Who We Are

The Military Historical Society was founded in 1948 for the advancement of the education of the public by the promotion of the study of the history of the uniformed services of the Crown, of uniforms, weapons, and all aspects of military history, and the dissemination of knowledge relating to such matters.

Members include collectors of militaria ranging from badges through medals to postcards, and regimental, military and family historians. Members have the opportunity to display or add to their collections at the Annual Exhibition and bourse held jointly with the Aldershot Militaria Society.

The Society currently has two active regional Branches (See “Branches” tab for details).

The Officers and Committee of the Society as of Septemberr 2016:


General The Lord Richards of Herstmonceux, CBE, CBE, DSO, DL

Vice Presidents:

Lt. Cdr. Keith Hook RD, RN (Rtd), LLB, ACIS

Colonel Denis Wood MBE

Colonel Tim Wright


Lt. Col. Nick Beswick

Mr. David Brown (Secretary)

Col. (Rtd) Patrick Crowley

Brig. (Rtd) Clive Elderton CBE (Chairman)

Mr. Gary Gibbs (Deputy Editor)

Mr. Bill Herbert

Dr. John Murdoch (Treasurer & Membership Secretary)

Col. Tim Wright

Col. Bob Wyatt (Editor)